5 Times I Fell in Love with Words (Kristen Roedel)

There is nothing I love more than an author with a deeply personal voice, one that seems to reach deep down into your soul and touch on your most clandestine sensitivities. These five quotes touch on my hang-ups with perfection, relationships, and trust.

“If it’s a story I’m telling, then I have control over the ending… But if it’s a story, even in my head, I must be telling it to someone. You don’t tell a story only to yourself. There’s always someone else. Even when there is no one.”

– Margaret Atwood, The Handmaid’s Tale

 

“Everyone is a genius, but if you judge a fish on its inability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid.”

– Albert Einstein

 

“She tentatively steps toward me. I put my arms around her, look at her. Her eyes are rimmed red, her nose is swollen, and she definitely has a bad cold. I place my hands over her ears and tip her head back, and kiss her, and try to put my heart into hers, for safe-keeping, in case I lose it again.”

– Audrey Niffenegger, The Time Traveler’s Wife

 

“It was the fatal flaw of humanity, which Nature, in one shape or another, stamps ineffaceably on all her productions, either to imply that they are temporary and finite, or that their perfection must be wrought by toil and pain.”

– Nathaniel Hawthorne, “The Birth-Mark”

 

“Ignoring isn’t the same as ignorance, you have to work at it.”

– Margaret Atwood, The Handmaid’s Tale

Leave a Reply

