Television Show Review: ‘New Girl’

1

One of my favorite shows on television (let’s be honest; I watched it all on Netflix) would definitely have to be New Girl. I don’t think there has ever been an episode that hasn’t made me crack up. Writer Elizabeth Meriwether knows how to get an audience laughing. Besides having one of my favorite TV couples ever, another reason I might be so obsessed with New Girl is because, as a 20-something-year-old, I find myself relating a lot to various characters on the show. For instance,

I can relate to Nick in terms of trying to live a healthier lifestyle:

2

I can relate to Winston when I eventually give up said healthier lifestyle:

3

Or to Jess about life in general:

4

And to Jess when I feel overwhelmed by grad school:

5

Or how I handle life when I’m upset:

6

Although I can’t relate to it, I can definitely understand Nick’s adult reaction to a break up:

7

I can relate to Schmidt when I feel like an old man and start complaining about people from the “younger generation.”

8

Or to Jess whenever I feel like someone older than me isn’t showing me the respect I feel I deserve:

9

While there are many funny moments in the show that I can feel myself connecting with, there are also many serious moments that I can relate to or learn from, as well.

I love this simple yet easy to forget message about love from Jess.

10

Or this reminder that being alone is not always a bad thing, but in fact something that everyone should learn to love and celebrate. After all, who doesn’t crave a night alone on the couch every now and then—with their favorite bottle of wine, favorite Ben & Jerry’s ice cream, and Dirty Dancing playing on the TV? Or is that just me…?

11

As a 20-something year old, I’ve been in a few relationships that completely did not work out. After each break up, I would get scared that what I am searching for in terms of love does not actually exist, and it’s comforting to see a character I’ve grown to love and respect (even if she’s completely fictional) to have the same fears and doubts as me.

12

There’s this important little life lesson from Schmidt about remembering, even as an adult, that the world does not revolve around you and there are other peoples’ feelings to consider.

18

Cece’s advice is something that will never not be useful in life. No matter how hard it gets, no matter how many times you feel like you’ve failed, keep going.

19

And last but not least, when all else fails, remember that you always have your family and friends.

20

THIS POST WAS COMPOSED BY SAMANTHA MILLER. YAY!
Leave a Reply

