National Poetry Month: The Beautiful Scar

Written and submitted by Randall Taylor

The Beautiful Scar

I’ve made you laugh and smile just as much as I’ve made you yell and cry.
Loving each other has never been easy.
But some wounds shouldn’t heal even if we never know why.
I’m sorry… My mask is ugly and sadly I’m ugly underneath too…
My eyes remain concealed because they cannot lie about the wounds and bruises my mask has
caused you.

Still… I don’t know where mine are…
But when we take off our masks, your chest bears the same pain as my back.
I will kiss yours as you massage mine.
Am I scared? Well I used to be…
Until I remembered who I was before I donned this mask.
Before I became ugly.

But still…you kissed every wound, massaged every bruise and spoke every cure.
I always wondered why you held me in the shadows even though I belonged in the light.
I always wondered why you kissed my mask even when I looked and felt nothing like me…

But now I understand.
Love isn’t perfect.
It’s a blessing and a curse.
But it will never break.
We share the same scar…
Because my dear we are each other’s beautiful mistake.

Leave a Reply

